If you liked The Sanatorium based on: Set in Isolated Places

Sort by:

And then there were none

And then there were none

Christie, Agatha, 1890-1976, author
2011


Do not disturb : a novel

Do not disturb : a novel

Douglas, Claire (Journalist), author
2020

Returning to her native Wales in the aftermath of a traumatic event, Kirsty reconnects with her estranged cousin, Selena, whose mysterious return places Kirsty and her daughters at risk.

Show More


The escape room

The escape room

Goldin, Megan, author
2019


Force of nature

Force of nature

Harper, Jane (Jane Elizabeth), author
2019


The guest list

The guest list

Foley, Lucy (Novelist), author
2020

On an island off the coast of Ireland, guests gather to celebrate two people joining their lives together as one... The cell phone service may be spotty and the waves may be rough, but every detail has been expertly planned and will be expertly executed. But perfection is for plans, and people are all too human. As the champagne is popped and the festivities begin, resentments and petty jealousies begin to mingle with the reminiscences and well wishes. The groomsmen begin the drinking game from their school days. The bridesmaid not-so-accidentally ruins her dress. The bride's oldest (male) friend gives an uncomfortably caring toast. And then someone turns up dead. Who didn't wish the happy couple well? And perhaps more important, why?

Show More


The last house guest

The last house guest

Miranda, Megan, author
2019

Littleport, Maine, has always felt like two separate towns: an ideal vacation enclave and a simple harbour community for the year-round residents. Each summer for almost a decade, visitor Sadie Loman and Littleport resident Avery Greer are inseparable - until Sadie is found dead. While the police rule the death a suicide, Avery can't help but feel there are those in the community, including a local detective and Sadie's brother, Parker, who blame her. Someone knows more than they're saying, and Avery is intent on clearing her name, before the facts get twisted against her.

Show More


Lock every door

Lock every door

Sager, Riley, author
2019

No visitors. No nights spent away from the apartment. No disturbing the other residents, all of whom are rich or famous or both. These are the only rules for Jules Larsen's new job as an apartment sitter at the Bartholomew. Recently heartbroken and just plain broke, Jules is taken in by the splendor of her surroundings and accepts the terms, ready to leave her past life behind. Jules finds herself drawn to fellow apartment sitter Ingrid, who comfortingly, disturbingly reminds her of the sister she lost eight years ago. When Ingrid confides that the Bartholomew is not what it seems and the dark history hidden beneath its gleaming facade is starting to frighten her, Jules brushes it off as a harmless ghost story, until the next day, when Ingrid disappears.

Show More


One by one

One by one

Ware, Ruth, author
2020

Getting snowed in at a luxurious, rustic ski chalet high in the French Alps doesn't sound like the worst problem in the world. Especially when there's a breathtaking vista, a full-service chef and housekeeper, a cozy fire to keep you warm, and others to keep you company. Unless that company happens to be eight coworkers...each with something to gain, something to lose, and something to hide. When the cofounder of Snoop, a trendy London-based tech startup, organizes a weeklong trip for the team in the French Alps, it starts out as a corporate retreat like any other: PowerPoint presentations and strategy sessions broken up by mandatory bonding on the slopes. But as soon as one shareholder upends the agenda by pushing a lucrative but contentious buyout offer, tensions simmer and loyalties are tested. The storm brewing inside the chalet is no match for the one outside, however, and a devastating avalanche leaves the group cut off from all access to the outside world. Even worse, one Snooper hadn't made it back from the slopes when the avalanche hit. As each hour passes without any sign of rescue, panic mounts, the chalet grows colder, and the group dwindles further....one by one.

Show More


The shining

The shining

King, Stephen, 1947- author
1977

Jack Torrance's new job at the Overlook Hotel is the perfect chance for a fresh start. As the off-season caretaker at the atmospheric old hotel, he'll have plenty of time to spend reconnecting with his family and working on his writing. But as the harsh winter weather sets in, the idyllic location feels ever more remote . . . and more sinister.

Show More


The turn of the key

The turn of the key

Ware, Ruth, author
2019

When she stumbles across the ad, she's looking for something else, but it seems like too good an opportunity to miss -- a live-in nannying post, with a staggeringly generous salary. And when Rowan Caine arrives at Heatherbrae House, she is smitten -- by the luxurious "smart" home, by the beautiful Scottish Highlands, and by this picture-perfect family. What she doesn't know is that she's stepping into a nightmare -- one that will end with a child dead and herself in prison awaiting trial for murder. Writing to her lawyer from prison, she struggles to explain the unravelling events that led to her incarceration. She knows she's made mistakes. She's not innocent, by any means. But, she maintains, she's not guilty -- at least not of murder.

Show More


An unwanted guest

An unwanted guest

Lapeña, Shari, 1960-, author
2018

It's winter in the Catskills and the weather outside is frightful, but Mitchell's Inn is so delightful! So when the weather takes a turn for the worse and a blizzard cuts off the electricity-- and all contact with the outside world-- the guests settle in for the long haul. The power's down but they've got candles, blankets and firewood-- a genuine rustic experience! Soon, though, a body turns up-- surely an accident. When a second body appears, they start to panic. Within the snowed-in paradise, something-- or someone-- is picking off the guests one by one.

Show More


chat loading...