If you liked The Sanatorium based on: Female detectives

Sort by:

21st birthday

21st birthday

Patterson, James, 1947- author
2021

Detective Lindsay Boxer vows to protect a young woman from a serial killer long enough to see her twenty-first birthday. When Tara Burke goes missing with her baby girl, all eyes are on her husband, Lucas. He paints her not as a missing person but a wayward wife--until a gruesome piece of evidence turns the investigation criminal. ADA Yuki Castellano sizes Lucas up as a textbook domestic offender...who suddenly puts forward an unexpected suspect. If what Lucas tells law enforcement has even a grain of truth, there isn't a woman in the state of California who's safe.

Show More


City of the lost

City of the lost

Armstrong, Kelley, author
2016

Casey Duncan once killed a man and got away with it. But that's not why she's on the run. Her best friend's ex has found Diana again, despite all Casey has done to protect her. And Diana has decided the only way she'll ever be safe is if she finds the mythical town she's heard of where people like her can go to hide. Turns out the town really exists, and will take Diana, but only if Casey, a talented young police detective, comes too.

Show More


Faithless in death

Faithless in death

Robb, J. D., 1950- author
2021

The scene in the West Village studio appears to be classic crime-of-passion. But when Dallas tracks down the wealthy Upper East Side woman who called 911, the details don't add up. As Eve and her team look into this woman's past and the people around her, they find that the lies are about more than murder. As with sculpture, they need to chip away at the layers of deception to find the shape within - and soon they're getting the FBI involved in a case that involves a sinister, fanatical group and a stunning criminal conspiracy.

Show More


Girl waits with gun

Girl waits with gun

Stewart, Amy, author
2015


Hush

Hush

Patterson, James, 1947- author
2020

Prison is a dangerous place for a former cop - as Harriet Blue is learning daily. So, following a fight for her life and a prison-wide lockdown, the last person she wants to see is Deputy Police Commissioner Joe Woods. The man who put her inside. But Woods is not there to gloat. His daughter Tonya and her two-year-old child have gone missing. He's ready to offer Harriet a deal: find his family to buy her freedom.

Show More


A study in scarlet women

A study in scarlet women

Thomas, Sherry (Sherry M.), author
2016

With her inquisitive mind, Charlotte Holmes has never felt comfortable with the demureness expected of the fairer sex in upper class society. But she never thought that she would become a social pariah, an outcast fending for herself on the mean streets of London. When the city is struck by a trio of unexpected deaths and suspicion falls on her sister and her father, Charlotte is desperate to find the true culprits and clear the family name. She'll have help from friends new and old--a kind-hearted widow, a police inspector, and a man who has long loved her. But in the end, it will be up to Charlotte, under the assumed name Sherlock Holmes, to challenge society's expectations and match wits against an unseen mastermind.

Show More


Twisted twenty-six

Twisted twenty-six

Evanovich, Janet, author
2019

Grandma Mazur is a widow - again. This time her marriage lasted a whole 45 minutes. The unlucky groom was one Jimmy Rosolli, local gangster, Lothario (senior division) and heart attack waiting to happen - well, the waiting's over. Grandma doesn't mind all the attention as the dutiful widow. But some kinds of attention are not welcomed, particularly when Jimmy's former "business partners" are convinced that his widow is keeping the keys to their financial success for herself.

Show More



When the stars go dark : a novel

When the stars go dark : a novel

McLain, Paula, author
2021

In the Northern California village of Mendocino, a local teenage girl has gone missing. Then, just days later, a twelve-year-old girl is abducted from her home. The crimes feel frighteningly reminiscent of the most crucial time in detective Anna Hart's childhood, when a string of unsolved murders touched Mendocino. As past and present collide, Anna realizes that she has been led to this moment. As Anna becomes obsessed with these missing girls, she must learn that true courage means getting out of her own way and learning to let others in.

Show More


When you see me

When you see me

Gardner, Lisa, author
2020

FBI Special Agent Kimberly Quincy and Sergeant Detective D.D. Warren have built a task force to follow the digital bread crumbs left behind by deceased serial kidnapper Jacob Ness. When a disturbing piece of evidence is discovered in the hills of Georgia, they bring Flora Dane and true-crime savant Keith Edgar to a small town where something seems to be deeply wrong. What at first looks like a Gothic eeriness soon hardens into something much more sinister - and they discover that for all the evil Jacob committed while alive, his worst secret is still to be revealed.

Show More


chat loading...